This post is also available in: Italian

Reading Time: 3 minutes

The Cloud path is one of the new certifications paths from VMware announced during the last VMworld US. I’m not sure that it will remain an independent (from the -DCV) path also in the future, considering that VMware now is pushing on the vCloud Suite rather than only the single vSphere or vCloud Director part. But this is just a my guess. Actually the Datacenter Virtualization (vSphere) and the Cloud (vCloud Director and related products) are two separated certifications paths.

VCP-CloudVCP Level

This is the first level of this path and there are two different exams to gain the VCP-Cloud certification:

Suggested courses to help you prepare:

For more information about the IaaS exam see also: my experience on VCP5-Iaas exam.

Seems (by looking at the VCP-Cloud Exam Blueprint) that the VCP-Cloud exam cover both vSphere AND vCloud and is really longer compared to the VCP-IaaS exam. But if you are weak on vCloud and really strong on vSphere, maybe, could be easy pass this exam rather than the IaaS one (if all questions have same weight on the fine score).


This second level has different exams:

VCDX-CloudVCDX Level

For VCDX level actually only few information are available. For new candidates the VCDX-Cloud seems quite simple as the VCDX-DV and probably will be based on the vCloud Suite 5.1 (not clear if also application on vCloud 1.5 could be accepted).

Less clear now the cross-path for existing VCDX-DV canditates: actually seems that with the VCAP-CID, VCAP-CIA and a Cloud based application (approved) existing VCDX-DV could become VCDX-Cloud. But it’s not confirmed yet. Let’s wait official information.


Virtualization, Cloud and Storage Architect. Tech Field delegate. VMUG IT Co-Founder and board member. VMware VMTN Moderator and vExpert 2010-24. Dell TechCenter Rockstar 2014-15. Microsoft MVP 2014-16. Veeam Vanguard 2015-23. Nutanix NTC 2014-20. Several certifications including: VCDX-DCV, VCP-DCV/DT/Cloud, VCAP-DCA/DCD/CIA/CID/DTA/DTD, MCSA, MCSE, MCITP, CCA, NPP.