This post is also available in: Italian

In a similar way as defined for the VCP-Cloud certification path, VMware has defined some cross-path for the the different VCP certifications to remove (if you are already a VCP on another path) the course requirements!

Those are the different options:

  • VCP-Cloud: you have two different exams: VCP-IaaS (if you already are a VCP-DCV, no course is mandatory) or VCP-Cloud (if you start from scratch, but in this case there is a mandatory course).
    Note also that if you are a VCP-DCV, VCAP-DCA or VCAP-DCD, you can obtain the VCP-Cloud certification by passing the VCAP-CIA or VCAP-CID exam.
  • VCP-DT: as written in this post, now there are two different path: VCP-View exam (if you already are a VCP-DCV or VCP-Cloud, no course is mandatory) or VCP-Desktop exam (if you start from scratch, but in this case there is a mandatory course).
    Also in this case, if you are a VCP-DCV, you can obtain the VCP-DT certification by passing the VCAP-DTD exam.
  • VCP-DCV: in this case the exam remain always the VCP-DCV, but if you are a VCP-DT or VCP-Cloud you could only take the exam without any mandatory course!

See also: VMware Certification program updates and VMware Certification program updates (part 2).

This post has already been read 811 times.

Andrea MauroAbout Andrea Mauro (2742 Posts)

Virtualization, Cloud and Storage Architect. Tech Field delegate. VMUG IT Co-Founder and board member. VMware VMTN Moderator and vExpert 2010-18. Dell TechCenter Rockstar 2014-15. Microsoft MVP 2014-16. Veeam Vanguard 2015-18. Nutanix NTC 2014-18. PernixPro 2014-16. Several certifications including: VCDX-DCV, VCP-DCV/DT/Cloud, VCAP-DCA/DCD/CIA/CID/DTA/DTD, MCSA, MCSE, MCITP, CCA, NPP.

Related Post: