Reading Time: 2 minutes

Starting from vSphere 5.0, the vCenter Server Virtual Appliance (vCSA) is a new deployment options with some pros and cons. Some of the cons may limit it in the large environments, but starting with the version 5.5 the embedded database has more interesting limits to make it suitable for most of the SMB cases.

Honestly I like the idea to have a vCenter Server as a single black box: it make simple to manage and backup it. But also to update (update vCSA is really faster compared to update a tradition vCenter Server).

Anyway there are also some minor issue that you have to take care during your deployments.

Certificates issue

In some condition you may have issue with certificate and have errors like this:

Failed to connect to VMware Lookup Servicehttps://vCVA_IP_address:7444/lookupservice/sdk – SSL certificate verification failed.

To resolve this issue use the VMware KB 2033338 (Troubleshooting the vCenter Server Appliance with Single Sign-On login)

To toggle the certificate settings:

  1. Log in to the vCenter Server Appliance Web interface at https://hostname:5480/.
  2. Click the Admin tab.
  3. Regenerate certificates:
    vCenter Server 5.1: Select Toggle certificate setting so that the Certificate regeneration enabled displays Yes.
    vCenter Server 5.5: Select Yes under Certificate regeneration enabled.
  4. Click Submit.
  5. Reboot the vCenter Server Appliance.

After the vCenter Server Appliance reboots, confirm that the Certificate regeneration enabled option is set to disabled.

Network issue

If you are deploying vCSA in a network without DHCP you will have (in the console) a similar error:


Just open the console and run the /opt/vmware/share/vmware/vami_config_net script to configure your networing.

Converter 5.5 issue

See this related post.


Virtualization, Cloud and Storage Architect. Tech Field delegate. VMUG IT Co-Founder and board member. VMware VMTN Moderator and vExpert 2010-24. Dell TechCenter Rockstar 2014-15. Microsoft MVP 2014-16. Veeam Vanguard 2015-23. Nutanix NTC 2014-20. Several certifications including: VCDX-DCV, VCP-DCV/DT/Cloud, VCAP-DCA/DCD/CIA/CID/DTA/DTD, MCSA, MCSE, MCITP, CCA, NPP.