Reading Time: 2 minutes

Nutanix has release the new version Acropolis Base Software, formerly known as Nutanix Operating System (NOS), version 4.5.

Acropolis is not only the name of the “native” hypervisor (Acropolis Hypervisor or AHV), but is becoming the name of the entire NOS:


New terms are been introduced and this table summarize most of the changes:

New Terminology Formerly Known As
Acropolis base software Nutanix operating system, NOS
Acropolis hypervisor, AHV Nutanix KVM hypervisor
Acropolis API Nutanix API and Acropolis API
Acropolis App Mobility Fabric Acropolis virtualization management and administration
Acropolis Distributed Storage Fabric, DSF Nutanix Distributed Filesystem (NDFS)
Prism Element Web console (for cluster management); also known as the Prism web console; a cluster managed by Prism Central
Prism Central Prism Central (for multicluster management)
Block fault tolerance Block awareness

But there are not only changes in the names, but also a lot of new features that are not mainstream in the new release (most of them where already present as a technical preview):

See also:


Virtualization, Cloud and Storage Architect. Tech Field delegate. VMUG IT Co-Founder and board member. VMware VMTN Moderator and vExpert 2010-24. Dell TechCenter Rockstar 2014-15. Microsoft MVP 2014-16. Veeam Vanguard 2015-23. Nutanix NTC 2014-20. Several certifications including: VCDX-DCV, VCP-DCV/DT/Cloud, VCAP-DCA/DCD/CIA/CID/DTA/DTD, MCSA, MCSE, MCITP, CCA, NPP.