This post is also available in: Italian

Reading Time: 2 minutes

As discussed, all the VMware exams have a release version that depend only by the major number of the related products (or suite). And usually are all agnostic on the minor number. But the only way to be sure is check the related blueprint and verify the content (a simple and fast way could be check the document links).

But there are also some specific notes depending by the certification path.

Datacenter path

As written in a previous post, the VCP5-DV has some difference (in the blueprint), but is still completely vSphere 5.x agnostic!

Actually (when I took the exam) the VCAP5-DCA lab is based on vSphere 5.0 (without part from 5.1 or 4.x), so it could be good idea make practices on this version (or the suggested in the blueprint) before the exam.

The VCAP5-DCD exam is manly theoric (with some technical and sizing question), but could be considered agnostic on a generic vSphere 5 version.

EUC path

When I took the VCP5-DT exam it was View 5.x agnostic. Maybe in the future could become more related to Horizon View 5.2 version (or the entire Horizon Suite).

With the previous version I’ve got a big surprise on VCP4-DT exam with several questions specific on View 4.6… so be sure to check the blueprint version.

The final VCAP related exam will be interesting because both in the admin and in the design there are several different aspects… Let’s see.

Cloud path

I’ve already described the difference between VCP-IaaS and VCP-Cloud, and the different platform reference for each!

I’ve not yet information about VCAP5-CID and -CIA, but probably are based on the vCloud 5.1 suite.


Virtualization, Cloud and Storage Architect. Tech Field delegate. VMUG IT Co-Founder and board member. VMware VMTN Moderator and vExpert 2010-24. Dell TechCenter Rockstar 2014-15. Microsoft MVP 2014-16. Veeam Vanguard 2015-23. Nutanix NTC 2014-20. Several certifications including: VCDX-DCV, VCP-DCV/DT/Cloud, VCAP-DCA/DCD/CIA/CID/DTA/DTD, MCSA, MCSE, MCITP, CCA, NPP.